A Dying Fire Within

I was doing so good, for so long!

Then the brakes started being applied, gently at first.

Then a little harder…

And now someone has flat out stomped on them, leaving skid marks.

I’ve come grinding to a halt in writing.

I don’t know if it’s just the past three works days literally kicking my ass, or if I’ve lost my inspiration, or if I’ve just said “eh, I made my original goal, I can stop now.” I honestly have not a clue. (If it’s that last one, I’m going to start yelling at myself.) Though working long hours the past three days (which, coincidentally, are the three days I haven’t gotten any writing done) has got me beat. All three shifts I’ve been running around like a chicken with my head cut off, barely stopping for a breather. Yesterday was the worst of them.

I was supposed to work 4:30-10. However, another manager had to call off due to injury, and since I was the only one that could pick up the slack, I ended up working 1-10. Nine hours of never stopping for a break. I could have taken a break, but, I worked right through it because I had too much to do. Nine straight hours of running around like a chicken with no head.

So I really don’t know if this working like mad is what’s got me slowed down in writing right now, or what it is. I still have yet to make up some more notes. I did start some the other day on my break at work.

However… That presented me with a problem.

You see, at the beginning of this month, I had made up a tentative timeline for this character’s ride in the story. Needless to say, my character has already run with it and changed things on me some. Now I’m trying to figure out how to get back on track, or how to rework the timeline. I’m going to blame my villain for this sudden turn, and she’s probably laughing at me for it.

Go figure.

Hopefully I’m not needed to come in a few hours early again tomorrow for work so that I have some time to:

1) Relax, because I’m sore as all hell right now.

2) Get some things in DBH figured out.

and

3) Get some writing done again.

My fingers are crossed. (Not that it ever does me much good.)

I think I need to add gasoline or some sort of an accelerant onto the dying fire inside me to get going again. Or someone needs to stoke it for me, which means nagging me or giving me an epiphany. Actually, one of those would be nice right about now so I can figure out the mess I just made in the timeline.

Leave a comment