Happy Release Day!

It’s here!

Today is Release Day for my short story appearance with Livina Press!

It’s been a little bit of chaos this week and I had intentions of making a release details blog post and sharing some backstory on my contribution before now. However, the Universe wanted to make this release as fast-paced and chaotic as the knot spell I did for this story’s hopeful acceptance somewhere a month ago. So, I decided instead of releasing details that were constantly evolving or potentially incorrect, it was better to just wait for actual Release Day. Out of respect for the one-woman team this press is, I did not want to overstep Livina’s announcements in any way either.

But don’t worry, I will still post the backstory sometime next week. I’m sure there will be other promotional snippets and details to come, too, so stay tuned for those! It’s a good thing I thrive in chaos.

Now without further ado…

I am proud to announce that my story, “Circles of Revenge,” is out NOW in Issue 8: Spring 2024!

Issue 8 features the poetry, fiction, and creative non-fiction of THIRTY authors.

Issue Blurb:

The weather has warmed considerably since our last issue, and there have been quite a few showers since spring began. But what better way to celebrate the changing seasons than with the new spring issue of Livina Press! I am excited to bring you a whole new collection of poems and stories that will hopefully keep you company on the rainy days inside.

In this issue, there’s magic and trickery, heartache and healing, and everything else in between. There is so much to explore within these pages, and I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I did.

Welcome to Issue 8 of Livina Press. Remember to keep your mind open and your heart ready.

My contribution to Issue 8 is a fantasy short story with prose elements titled, “Circles of Revenge.” It’s a short little thing of roughly 1,500 words, but it packs a twist and some clever poetic wording.

Short Story Blurb:

I’m the last of our guild. With me the truth will either prevail or perish.

For as long as memory serves, we have been but shadows in the night or bold messages of display, cutting down opposers and enacting the will of the regime. We were never meant to cut down each other. We were never meant to question. But question we must. Align we must. For now, I am the last hope of restoring balance.

With me the truth will either prevail or perish.

Short Story Excerpt:

I wonder: if I could simply turn around and backtrack my steps, would my counterpart as well? Or might we finally meet face to face, weapons clashing?

I’m certain we could stalk each other ‘til the end of time. Will it ever stop by blade through heart or poison dart? Or must we wander ‘round and ‘round ‘til one falls to nature instead of malicious skill?

I don’t want it to end that way. I don’t want it to end in more blood, the end of a guild or the beginning of a new hunt. If nothing more, I want the truth to be freed, and the blame set right. I want our age-old agreement to be restored, for the right revenge to be wrought this time.

To do that I must be willing—willing to lay it all down, to let the truth go unheard for eternity if I fall before the words can leave my lips.

Issue 8 is available now in eBook, paperback, and hardcover on Amazon! Grab your copy today and check out my tale and others among a very talented crowd of authors!

4 thoughts on “Happy Release Day!

  1. Pingback: Another One?! | Darkling Dreams

  2. Pingback: NEW Release Details | Darkling Dreams

  3. Pingback: Release Amendment + NB Stats | Darkling Dreams

  4. Pingback: Happy Release Day…Again! | Darkling Dreams

Leave a comment