Release Amendment + NB Stats

I’m just a few days out from the release of my second short story which comes out on Friday! However, I have to make a slight adjustment to the release details that I put out last week.

Unfortunately, there will no longer be a digital edition of this magazine. The magazine released an announcement on their website since my last check that all digital editions were being discontinued, starting with this May issue. The magazine will now only be available in print.

To say I am disappointed about this change is an understatement. This is a worldwide magazine that prints and ships outside the United States, so no digital edition may, in my opinion, severely limit the reach and exposure of this issue and my story within it. I won’t be surprised if my friends and family no longer make an attempt to purchase it due to this fact, and who can blame them?

While I do absolutely understand the reasoning behind the magazine’s decision and respect their choice, I’m still disappointed. Perhaps even a little peeved that I may get absolutely nothing out of my contribution to the issue now. I am hoping that won’t be the case and some other changes will happen for contributor copies at the very least, but my hopes are not high…

Regardless, the release is almost here so I thought it was a good time to share the stats that led to this acceptance. And let me say, they are…unbelievable.

Like “Circles of Revenge,” this story started out in the submission trenches through college in 2023 as a last minute entry to their annual fiction contest.

However, that was the one and only other time this story went out.

This tale was going to be my next focus for literary magazines after CoR got published by Livina Press. Instead, the Universe decided to grace me with some insane luck and, well… You can guess what just by looking at these stats:

I still don’t know how to feel about those final stats. I’m not sure the shock has worn off yet.

Now just for fun, I’ll leave y’all with a little breadcrumb like I did for CoR. Take your best guess at what you think NB stands for! Here’s a hint: The story is about magick origins, breaking all the rules and laws, disabled characters, and acceptance.

Leave a comment