The Benefits of Guest Posting for Authors

Hello and welcome to my first post in the new system I am trying out for this blog, A Writer’s Guide. I hope to make things more informative and thoughtful than just my simple ramblings of the journey that is writing for me.

To start, this is not an actual guest post from someone else. Yet. This time I am simply going to discuss what could be some benefits to having guest posts, as well as the many ways in which you can use guest posting.

As I’ve been brainstorming for topics to use in these posts, I stumbled across the thought of guest posts. I realized it was something I considered doing before, but for different reasons than I am considering it now. With that realization I began to wonder a few things:

What all can guest posting do for you, or fellow bloggers/authors? Can it be helpful in growing your online following by expanding to others as well, which in turn might bring new readers that could potentially become new followers? What kind of guest posts can you feature?

These questions began to tumble about my head, exploring one avenue of thought before branching off to another. The more I tinker and debate over the idea, the more I see the possibilities within guest posting. Let me break it down a little bit in regards to the questions I had about it.

What all can guest posting do for you, or fellow bloggers/authors?

Obviously to have guest posts all the time defeats the purpose of running your own blog, but it can be beneficial to spread your wings a little bit and include others once and awhile. Of course it may require some more work than simply sitting down at your computer and typing out a post from your own thoughts. You’d have to coordinate with the person you wish to feature for the post, figure out what you would like them to write for you or talk about. Then you have to go through the process of creating the post with them and getting it scheduled and completed with enough time before your date of posting.

Yes, that is a bit more work, but it could also be great fun to chat with fellow bloggers and authors to co-write a post. You get to possibly learn something new about them or about the topic you are discussing, have a laugh or two even. Plus it changes things up a little for your current followers, and who knows? Perhaps your followers could become their followers because they like what they see in your guest post. You could not only be helping yourself by trying something new, but you could be helping them as well.

This possibility goes hand in hand with the next question I presented.

Can it be helpful in growing your online following by expanding to others as well, which in turn might bring new readers that could potentially become new followers?

The answer, plain and simple, is yes! It can definitely be beneficial in expanding your online following. If you host a guest post, then not only does that post get sent out to your followers, but it is highly likely your guest will share the post with their followers as well. Therefore you get double the eyes on your post, and as I stated above, perhaps some of those followers will become both of your followers because they like what they see.

It could even go further from there. Perhaps a follower of your guest likes them so much and what they posted with you that even they share the post. Now you’ve got triple the eyes viewing your post perhaps. It could go on and on from there.

If you show you’re friendly and talkative with other bloggers and authors, you’re giving yourself a boost in which others might just come to you to see what you’re all about. A bit of advice I was given is that you have to go out and sort of reel your followers in by being active with others, guest posting is a great way to do that. Who knows? Maybe someone could even like your idea of guest posting so much that they contact you to see if they could share a guest post with you, or invite you to write one for their blog.

The possibilities in the extra number of eyes you could reach are almost endless by guest posting with others.

What kind of guest posts can you feature?

And speaking of almost endless possibilities, there are various ways in which you can feature guest posts in such a wide range of topics depending on what your blog is about, what they’re about, and so forth.

Last year in October when I got my debut publication, one of the things my publisher did for promotional benefits was feature an author interview guest post on their blog, Once Upon A Word. In it I got to share a little bit about myself, give insight into where and how I came up with the idea for the short story I wrote, share an excerpt of said story to gain some interest for my work, and answer a few other questions in regards to the topic and theme of my story and the anthalogy I was published in.

I was suprised to be asked to do an author interview for the blog, for I hadn’t expected it, but the more time has passed, the more I’ve come to realize it is a great promotional benefit without much fuss or grandstanding so to say. And every author out there knows promoting can be a royal pain in the arse, so if someone asks you to guest post an interview, why ever would you turn it down? It’s essentially free pubilicity for you! A win win all around!

So, naturally, an author interview is a great way to feature a guest post, but it doesn’t just stop there.

Guest posts could range as far as simply asking someone to share their secrets to writing (if they dare give them up), or to share their wisdom and tricks of the trade. Perhaps you could even feature a guest post as a part of someone’s research into a certain aspect of writing or publishing, create a poll or survey with another. You could simply discuss the ins and outs of this industry with someone more experienced and get more insight, in turn helping yourself and anyone else who follows you. Instead of an author interview, you could create a book review and then ask the author for them to host a character interview for you just for fun.

The ways in which you can feature a guest post are almost limitless. If it can be fun, informative, promotional, or helpful in any sense, and involves another author/blogger — even a friend — you can probably find a way to create a guest post out of just about any idea you may have.

Overall, should you venture into the world of guesting posting then?

That answer is ultimately up to you as a fellow blogger or author. I, however, do believe that guest posting can have many benefits to you and your fellow guest poster. It’s a great way to draw new eyes toward you by featuring someone else. It can be loads of fun to share a post with someone else. It gives you something to fill your post requirements when your creative juices are completely blanking on what you can write about thanks to the soul sucking Evil Day Job. You can use it for promotional reasons as an author. You can not only help yourself grow, but support someone else you care about, which in turn helps to get your name out there just a little bit further just like theirs.

There are many more benefits to guest posting, and while I’m sure there are some downsides — the extra work to creating the post and coordinating with someone, and the possibility that things may not follow through as you had wished them to — I believe that the benefits in this case outweigh the downsides.

So does that mean I’m going to start featuring some guest posts?

Probably. I’ve already had a couple ideas as to what guest posts I can feature and with who. Of course those posts won’t come right away, and I’ll have to see if they’ll accept a guest post on my blog first, then work with them to create the post. Sometime in the future though I’m rather sure there will start to be guest posts popping up within this blog. Perhaps I can make it a once a month thing, or an every other month thing.

Whichever way it comes to pass, there is one thing I have learned:

authors success

And that is especially true for authors and writers. Supporting their success by celebrating and sharing it with them not only brightens their days and relieves some of the burden on their promotional shoulders if you guest post with them, but it may just be returned to you one day later in life. You know what they say, what goes around, comes around.

So support your fellow authors like you support the celebrities you don’t even know, and share a guest post with them. After all, word of mouth is our greatest tool in the writing industry.


(Footnote: To anyone, author/blogger/writer/reader/so forth, who has other ideas or topics they would like to see me cover or talk about, please follow the first hyperlink above and drop me your ideas in the comment section. I look forward to hearing your interest.)

4 thoughts on “The Benefits of Guest Posting for Authors

  1. What a great idea! I can’t wait to see who shows up on your blog! This post was actually really helpful, too. Who knew that there could be so many benefits to having a guest writer on your blog page?

    On another note, a character interview sounds like so much fun: I totally think you should do it.
    I look forward to reading more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sure you’ll recognize one or two of the people who show up on in my guest posts when I start them. ;) And I’m thrilled it was helpful! That was my whole goal of starting these kind of posts.

      As for the character interview, that might not happen quite often, or in the near future. I’d have to do it with a character from a book that can be bought and read, not one from a story that isn’t out for sale yet. But perhaps at some point I may.

      Like

      • Well, we HAVE seen snippets of FtD before…. It wouldn’t be COMPLETELY unreasonable to have an interview with her…. but I see your point. I guess I’ll have to be patient for those interviews then! I can’t wait to see who you invite, and what’s in store next!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Perhaps not completely unreasonable, but readers don’t know enough about her or know her story yet to see such an interview, it would more than likely include spoilers and I won’t do that.

          Like

Leave a Reply

