Traitor (Wednesday Words 2.8.17)

Welcome to a piece of Wednesday Word’s flash fiction on Darkling Dreams!

A good friend of mine, P.T. Wyant, is doing a blog post every Wednesday called Wednesday Words with a new prompt for a bit of flash fiction writing, just to get in the habit of writing something, anything. (Even if said flash fiction is complete garbage at the time. Garbage is better than nothing though, right?) If you’re looking for some inspiration yourself or just something to aimlessly write, then go check out her blog for this week’s prompt!

With that being said, I am going to share what I came up with for this week’s flash fiction Shard based off an occurrence prompt. So here is my very rough around the edges minute of inspiration based off her prompt. I’d love to hear what you guys think of it!

(Please excuse any errors you may see, I said it was rough around the edges.)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Traitor

Two guards bowed their heads and pushed the doors open for him as he came to the room. He gave them a nod of acknowledgement, eyes grim as he stepped inside the room and the door closed behind him. Grey eyes swept over the room, taking in the surroundings. The long war table was pristine and empty, all ten chairs pushed in. None of the shelves of various books and scrolls were disturbed, everything neat in its place. His eyes lingered on the large symbol scorched on the stone floor with a touch of disgust before he turned his expression blank and looked up to see his father standing by the window, looking out with hands clasped behind his back.

“You wanted to see me, father?” he asked cordially after years of perfecting the most placid tone of obedience.

He turned around, red robes swishing. “Yes. I did. Have a seat, Rylan.” He gestured to one of the war chairs and it pulled outward on its own by magic.

There was something in this steely gaze, something in his tone that set off red alarms through his head. His shoulders tensed, straightening as he reached to clasp his hands behind his back now, lightly touching one against the knife hidden in his belt. “No thank you. I would rather stand.”

His father’s jaw clenched. “Have it your way.” He walked around the table toward him, causing Rylan to tense subtly, hand resting just above the hilt of his knife. “I hear you made a blunder in your last hunt.”

Rylan mentally cursed a string of colorful words and his blood ran cold with alarm. He should have known that was going to get back to him. Well, it proved one thing, his father had been having him tailed for the past few months. Now it was going to catch up to him, in a potentially deadly way.

“You wanted me to deliver my own mother to Lucifer for eternal damnation and slavery,” he replied coldly, eyes not leaving his father’s movements with a calculating gaze.

“Yes. I did. She committed treason to me, to our realm. There was no other choice left for her acts.” He trailed his hand over the table as he walked. “However, I saw to it your lack of…resolve was rectified afterward. Your lapse in judgment in our law could have cost us much had word gotten out. Should rumors have reached the Council’s ears of rebellion in our midst, you could have spun us into a war over petty mercy!” He banged his hand on the table, rage blazing in his eyes now. “A follower of our God cannot show such weakness! You are one of his greatest instruments for hunts because of your title.”

Rylan stilled, now gripping his knife till he was sure his knuckles were white. “What did you do to her?” he whispered, the color draining from his face.

“That is no longer any of your concern.”

“By Hell it is!”

“Don’t you swear to the God you just betrayed by defying your duties! Your mother made you soft.” He sneered, looking him up and down with such disappointment.

Rylan’s jaw tightened now, heart racing. “My mother made me a decent person, that’s more than I can say for you,” he growled lowly.

“How dare you insult me!”

“You take insult to me implying you’re an evil tyrant ruling over this realm? I thought you had thicker skin than that, father, that’s what you always taught me. At least tried to.”

Storm colored eyes flashed with a red sheen for only a second. “You’re a disgrace,” he hissed, balling a fist before opening it to kindle a ball of fire in his palm. “A bastard son would have been better than you.”

“You mean like the one you had killed?” he retorted.

The fireball came hurling at him. Rylan released the hold on his knife and threw his hands up to deflect it around him before it burned away to sparks raining down. “The only good your mother ever did was complete her duties as a wife. She betrayed this realm and deserved the fate she received. I would watch your next step carefully, Rylan, for you are on thin ice and treading treason yourself for defying orders. You have one final chance to own up to your name, your position.”

His fists clenched, lowering his hands. “I don’t give a damn about title and position. I don’t give a damn about earning your favor anymore. You were abusive to her, and she did everything in her power to protect me from your wrath and your ruthlessness! I didn’t want the position you gave me in Lucifer’s hunters, I didn’t want to track down innocent witches or warlocks to damn forever to him. I only did it to try to earn your favor.”

The Head Elder’s nostrils flared in fury, another fireball lighting in his hand. “So you are turning your back on your people too? You are going to be a traitor just like your peasant mother and commit treason?”

“You made that choice for me when you told me I had to send my own mother to Hell. The only person who ever truly cared for me.”

“You disgrace,” he spat. “You’re no son of mine.”

The doors banged back open at the same time his father hurled the fireball. Rylan ducked, eyes pulsing to red as he spun to catch sight of the guards rushing him. Shoving magic out in a blast, he managed to push back the guards. Red smoke curled up around his feet and just as he began to flee in a disappearing act he heard the distinct whistle of something metallic flying through the air, then a sharp pain pierce his shoulder at the very last second before he was gone.


Now you can find this flash fiction work and others on my profile on Wattpad! Click here for my profile and go dive into a sea of Shards of Imagination!

Shards of Imagination Cover Final

2 thoughts on “Traitor (Wednesday Words 2.8.17)

  1. I. LOVE. RYLAN. This guy…. is SO…. COOL. AGH! I want MORE! Give him his own book, PLEASE! I HAVE to know more, I NEED to know more, I WANT to know more! He’s just so cool and so INTERESTING!

    Like

Leave a Reply

