Rearing Plot Bunnies

It’s been an interesting couple of days. Not just with work and life, but with writing as well. My mind has been quite brain dead lately thanks to the holiday madness and the fact I think I burned out slightly after NaNoWriMo. I haven’t been writing because I’ve both been so busy and exhausted due to those things.

Well, the relative quietness that was my plot bunnies for the past two weeks suddenly turned into roaring lions again demanding my every sliver of attention on Wednesday.

As anyone who follows my blog knows, I do a piece of flash fiction writing every Wednesday. Last week I accidentally got a glimpse at this week’s prompt and had already figured out a storyline and all for the word combination. Of course, said storyline then had to wait a week because it was the wrong week, and I told myself I didn’t need to write my idea down because I’d remember it.

You can bet your last dollar I didn’t remember it come two nights ago.

I swear that is the biggest lie a writer ever tells themselves. “Oh I’ll remember this, I don’t need to write it down.” Ha! Yeah, right! Do yourself a favor and write it down anyways, because we normally forget. Maybe it’s the curse of a writer. (Now there’s a plot bunny in that one.)

Anyways! I finally came up with a different idea than what I originally had in mind and as I started writing my flash fiction piece, it started growing. And growing, and growing. It has now turned into a short story idea. Well, the basis of a short story idea with a few choice scenes and instances. It’s still brewing away up there though and developing further.

It’s screaming for my attention now, begging me to write this little steampunk-fantasy-hint-of-romance short story. The problem is I don’t have the time right now to toy with it, and I also don’t have enough to work with just yet. I have a few ideas and questions to answer that I wrote down, and all the little tidbits I thought of, but I have no real rhyme or reason on how to start it just yet. Somehow I know the ending, just not the beginning, or very much of the middle. Go figure.

I want to be sitting down and mapping it out, playing with it and shaping it by some rough outline, but I just have too much to do yet with only a week before Christmas.

There’s still a few gifts I need to get (if I can make it back out to shop since, you know, the weather is shit right now and I work six days next week) and I still need to make a few gifts. One of which will be quick and simple, another few will be easy but will take time, a different one is easy just takes maybe an hour or so, and the last one will take me forever with a lot of hand cramps. Then of course I’ll need to wrap everything, and at some point in the next couple days I need to do my laundry on top of all of this.

So, yeah, right now I really don’t have the time to be working out story ideas and plotting a short story. However, this short story also has a deadline of February 20th. And do you know why?

Because this little plot bunny is turning into a submission for Victory Tales Press’ spring anthology. So not only do I have to write it, I have to edit it and all that fun stuff like I did with Embermyst. And I have two months, on top of the holiday season and inventory.

Granted, I had only twelve days when I wrote, edited, and submitted Embermyst for the Halloween anthology, but still…I was less busy then.

And if all that isn’t bad enough, Fated to Darkness started rearing its head at me on Wednesday as well because suddenly I had the overwhelming urge to be writing something. Anything. So now I’ve got two stories screaming at me, as well as a bunch of gifts and craziness. Which is exactly why my novel isn’t getting done, because everything else steals the spotlight, including other plot bunnies.

I think it’s time to raise the white flag. Or hit big and quit my day job so that I have the time to write all these plot bunnies.

2 thoughts on “Rearing Plot Bunnies

Leave a Reply

