Clockwork Heart (Wednesday Words 12.14.16)

Welcome to a piece of Wednesday Word’s flash fiction on Darkling Dreams!

A good friend of mine, P.T. Wyant, is doing a blog post every Wednesday called Wednesday Words with a new prompt for a bit of flash fiction writing, just to get in the habit of writing something, anything. (Even if said flash fiction is complete garbage at the time. Garbage is better than nothing though, right?) If you’re looking for some inspiration yourself or just something to aimlessly write, then go check out her blog for this week’s prompt!

With that being said, I am going to share what I came up with for this week’s flash fiction Shard based off a three word combination prompt. So here is my very rough around the edges minute of inspiration based off her prompt. I’d love to hear what you guys think of it!

(Please excuse any errors you may see, I said it was rough around the edges.)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Clockwork Heart

“Lavinia?”

There was a faintly audible whirring noise of gears as she turned her head toward him. Baby blue eyes looked his tanned frame over, sprawled in leisure amongst the tall grass that waved like the rolling sea. At least, that was what he had told her it looked like sitting atop this hill when the wind blew. She had never seen the ocean though to understand the comparison.

“Yes, Eric?” Her light, automated voice vibrated through the air.

Tousled sandy hair rustled in the light breeze against his forehead as Eric rolled upright and propped himself sideways to look at her. “Have you ever wanted to travel the world? I mean beyond this realm. Beyond Clockwork and out into the real world, where I’m from.”

She blinked, staring into his warm chocolate eyes. “You know that is not possible for me. I belong here, and only here.”

“But have you ever thought about it? Answer me honestly, please.”

“No.” Her monotone voice sounded dull even to her own hearing mechanisms.

Eric’s lips twitched downwards. He pushed himself up to sit Indian style, scooting around to her side. At first he didn’t speak and she wondered if she had again done something wrong. She didn’t always understand their human ways. They were so different, so…complicated. These emotions they felt and their imaginations. They had hearts that beat in different rhythms instead of the constant grinding gears of a clockwork heart. They had ambitions and dreams, their natures varied so deeply. She feared she would never understand these strange creatures, even though one had befriended her.

Not to mention the way they moved and spoke. They could leak that strange red stuff like she could leak oil. She had seen water fall from their eyes and not damage any parts. They never whirred, clinked, or grinded with their movements. Octave upon octave of tone could fall from their lips as if they had many different programmed voice boxes instead of just one like her. She could only make a limited amount of facial expressions with her stretched and fitted flexible porcelain skin, but the array they could make was astounding.

They were so odd compared to her own kind. Then again, Eric must think her kind just as odd compared to his.

“I think you would love it,” he said softly, plucking a hexagonal flower from the grass and twirling it between two fingers.

“I do not understand love, Eric.”

He wore that same pained expression he had once classified to her as sadness, and she did not understand why he was sad.

“I know,” he whispered, “but I wish I could teach you what it’s like. I wish I could teach you all emotions and sensations, and that you would be able to feel it too.”

“It is not possible.”

The matter of fact response made the pain in his expression deepen and again she knew she had done something wrong, but she could not understand what. Upon the next breeze that blew over the hill Eric let the flower be carried away on its stream, watching it with a strange wistful expression. He had that expression more often than not around her anymore.

“Never say never, Lavinia,” Eric replied softly, staring off. “I think you would love it. To travel and see the wonders of my world. To see Earth, the ocean, forests. Clockwork is so…modernized. There is not enough of…this,” he gestured around at the rare piece of green landscape surrounding them, “around here. Not enough wilderness and wildness. I think you would love the freedom, the change. I wish you would change your mind and let me show you my world.” His eyes landed on hers, hovering for a moment before he looked off with a sigh.

Lavinia wasn’t quite sure how to respond, simply watching him. He had begun to play with the tiny watch locket he wore on a chain under his shirt.

“Why do you wear that?” she found herself asking.

Eric looked back to her, catching her gaze and fishing the locket out from under his shirt. He looked at it a moment, holding it tenderly. “My mother gave it to me, before she disappeared. It used to be hers. She said it would be my compass when I am most lost, but…” He trailed off and opened it, revealing an empty interior. “I don’t think it can be my compass when the charm that used to reside inside was missing when she gave it to me.”

“Perhaps you are meant to find the charm then for your compass.”

“I’ve tried.” He sighed, letting it fall back against his shirt as he closed the locket with a faint click. “I’ve looked everywhere in my mother’s things, my home, and anywhere she might have hidden her special belongings as a Traveler. It’s nowhere.”

“Then maybe you are not lost enough to find the charm.”

His gaze turned up to search her face. This time she could not determine what classified emotion was flitting across his expression. Whatever it be, it was intense.

“Perhaps you’re right…”


Now you can find this flash fiction work and others on my profile on Wattpad! Click here for my profile and go dive into a sea of Shards of Imagination!

Shards of Imagination Cover Final

Leave a Reply

