Captive To My Mind

Do you ever get so wrapped up, so lost in a plot or storyline that you just lose focus of everything else in life? Do you ever get so wrapped up in it that you feel as if you are floating in that fantasy land even while you walk through reality? As if you are only half there to the world around you, the rest of you lost in the scenes, sounds, voices, feelings of the world you are imagining?

It’s like it holds you captive and you find yourself staring off with a clouded gaze while you watch it play through your head and listen to the voices. It invades the waking and resting hours of your day, never giving you a break. It’s all you can think about, all you can play out in your head.

It’s like when you become so engrossed in a book that you forget the world around you, and no one realizes the emotional turmoil you just suffered at the hands of a paperback fictional story.

Only this time, you’re without the book.

Does that ever happen to anyone else?

Time just suspends itself and you are trapped in the world in your head. The gatekeeper waits for you to pay the price of your sanity, or perhaps your sleep, or perhaps your focus for days before you are freed back to the land of the consciously thinking.

That has been me for at least two days now, trapped inside this fantasy as if I was caught in a trance. My gatekeeper has refused to open the gates from this land yet, despite the price of my focus, and my thoughts.

And the thing is, it isn’t even my own stories doing it this time.

*Shakes head*

Anyways, that is where I am right now. Trapped in a land that is not my own, and I’m still paying the gatekeeper to try to get out to be able to focus once more. I guess I can only hope that I am freed soon for everything around me is taking a serious hit on the productivity scale.

Then again, when doesn’t that scale take a hit in my life?

Leave a Reply

