October Goals and NaNoWriMo

Last Friday I talked about my un-accomplished goals of September and how, much like at the beginning of September, I still did not have any idea on what my October goals were going to be. No surprise there.

So you know what that means? I get to figure them out by rambling on and basically talking to myself here! Hooray!

(Don’t ask, I’ve been in a very strange mood and I am dreading working at 5am, which is only the start of my five day work week and another 5am shift on Monday to boot. I am not a happy camper. If I’m a walking zombie by Tuesday’s post, just hand me caffeine, a blanket, and a pillow, and back away slowly.)

Now where was I? Oh, right, October goals.

Yeah, I’m not sure what I want them to be. I mean, obviously there’s going to be writing involved, but I don’t know how much writing. NaNoWriMo starts up in three weeks and three days and I still don’t know if I’m going for it.

I want to. I want to finally do the big daddy of them all and go for it after three years of Camp sessions, but I’m afraid to. I’m afraid of failing since I can’t choose my own word count goal, and I’m afraid of not having any time or energy to write because…retail, and the holiday season.

I’m still debating with myself on it.

I really should do it. (If I could do 63k in a month for a Camp session, why the hell can’t I do 50k for November, right? Wrong when it comes to retail.) If I do it I’m almost certain I will finish the first draft of Fated to Darkness by the end of November. It probably won’t even take the 50k to finish depending how much I write this month. I’m worried I won’t finish this draft this year if I don’t go for NaNo so I probably should just to push myself and actually make one of my yearly goals this year. I can’t remember half of the other ones right now.

So I should go for NaNo, and if I finish Fated to Darkness before I hit 50k, well, then I’ll either start Book 2 of this series (doubtful) or I’ll add some more words to my neglected first ever novel, Breaking Point.

(I say it’s doubtful I’ll start Book 2 because I want to work on my concordance for Book 1 before I start writing Book 2 so I have everything sorted and together, and my original plan was to finish the first draft and the concordance for Book 1 by December 31st so that I could spend 2017 editing the book, and then starting Book 2. I’m starting to think I might use the first Camp session in 2017 to start Book 2, and just work on Breaking Point until then in between editing to give myself a break. It’s sounding like a good idea now that I actually talked it out with someone earlier.)

Anyways! I’m getting really off topic here from October goals by talking about NaNoWriMo and now 2017 plans. And I’m also inwardly freaking out that I can write Book 2 into my plans because that’s insane that I’ve gotten this far, and AH!

Okay, okay, I’m cool, I’m calm. Just a mini author happy moment to think of finishing this book to start on the second book. *Tiny squee*

OKAY! Back on topic!

So, October goals, again.

I would love to actually finish Fated to Darkness this month and then wing NaNoWriMo or not even worry about it with the holiday. But I am a NaNo addict now, and I think I’ll need the push of NaNo to finish it. So the question then becomes how much should I plan to write for Fated to Darkness this month?

I wasn’t quite sure on that at first, but I’ve been thinking about it and I believe I’ve put the goal of 20k into my head again. It’s a reasonable amount without making myself stress this month since I’ll no doubt be stressing with NaNo next month — if I go for it, probably will have to.

Right now the Word doc I was using to write in to keep easier track of my word count has about 5k words, maybe almost 6k words in it. In my head I’m aiming to see that number between 25-30k by the end of the month.

Now that my writer’s block and pulling teeth seems to be getting out of my way in the chapter I’m on too, I shouldn’t have any trouble reaching that as long as I sit my ass down and write. It shouldn’t be hard, especially now the weight of getting Embermyst ready for publication is off my shoulders. The only things left I have to worry about with Embermyst now that it’s been released are trying to promote yet and figuring out what the hell I’m doing for the Halloween Facebook party in which I am a co-host to for Victory Tales Press’ Halloween Bash.

That stress is mostly off my shoulders now — which is good — and it leaves most of October open for me to focus on whatever once more.

Which, that really means I should plan for a lot more than just writing for this month, but for some reason, I don’t want to stress myself this month. I’ll be stressed next month, and December, I don’t want to die early in the season.

I could be doing all my camping notes, and I could be aiming to write the entries, and I could be aiming for some other things, but I’m leaving them off the plate this month. If I do some, great! If I don’t, I’m not stressing over it. I have three months left to complete my goal of finishing the first draft and concordance of Fated to Darkness, and goddammit I want to make that goal.

So yes, other than focusing on Fated to Darkness, NaNo, and the crap I have to get rid of from the yard sale before Thanksgiving, I’m not stressing on anything else. Those are the only three things I’m worrying about this month, and next month.

At least 20k to Fated to Darkness, be decently ready for NaNoWriMo, and whatever I can knock out on the yard sale crap are my actual goals it looks like. That’s it for October. No more.

2 thoughts on “October Goals and NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

