Lost (Wednesday Words 8.31.16)

Welcome to a piece of Wednesday Word’s flash fiction on Darkling Dreams!

A good friend of mine, P.T. Wyant, is doing a blog post every Wednesday called Wednesday Words with a new prompt for a bit of flash fiction writing, just to get in the habit of writing something, anything. (Even if said flash fiction is complete garbage at the time. Garbage is better than nothing though, right?) If you’re looking for some inspiration yourself or just something to aimlessly write, then go check out her blog for this week’s prompt!

With that being said, I am going to share what I came up with for this week’s flash fiction prompt based off a photo prompt. So here is my very rough around the edges minute of inspiration based off her prompt. I’d love to hear what you guys think of it!

(Please excuse any errors you may see, I said it was rough around the edges.)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Lost

Standing alone
Among rocky ground
A midnight coat
Glistens with droplets.
Saddened eyes watch
Storm clouds brewing,
And lightning streaking.

Lost at sea.
Lost at heart.

Thunder rolls through
A hollowed heart.
A wistful breeze
Carries memories old,
Begging black strands
Away towards home.

Lost at sea.
Lost at heart.

Nostrils flare at
Sea salt’s taunt, and
Sparse, dry grass
Tickles at hooves
In mockery.
How long can one survive?

Lost at sea.
Lost at heart.

Land too far,
Rescue too slim.
Abandoned and
Forgotten as
Bare land is:
One cannot survive long.

Lost at sea.
Lost at heart.

Once a loving hand groomed,
Now brambles mat instead.
Once a fiery spirit,
Wild and free,
Now wild by nature,
But not free by heart.

Lost at sea.
Lost at heart.


Now you can find this flash fiction work and others on my profile on Wattpad! Click here for my profile and go dive into a sea of Shards of Imagination!

Also, as I work to play catch up from my latest computer crash, I will be posting the Shards of a prompt I missed from May and June directly to Wattpad each week. That means two Shards every week! Those old prompts will not be posted to my blog so if you wish to see the old one of the week, you’ll have to hop on over to my profile on Wattpad.

Since I’ve been focusing on a project with a deadline and work, the next oldest Shard has not yet gone up on Wattpad. I know I was supposed to have the final two catch up Shards done and posted to Wattpad already but some things got the front burner in the past couple weeks. I am working to finish the last two lonely catch up Shards.

Shards of Imagination Cover Final

Leave a Reply

