Something Eerie (Snippet Sunday 5.22.16)

Welcome to Snippet Sunday on Darkling Dreams!

Where writers come together to share a few sentences (8-10) of their current project — whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.

snippet sunday

I am going to continue sharing from my first ever novel Breaking Point for the rest of May and through June. Breaking Point is an adventure novel that for once has no elements of fantasy.

Previously on Sunday Snippets: Our main character, who has yet to be named, has taken a ride through the forest on her horse Midnight, and has found herself racing a buck through the foliage. Midnight and his rider have veered off the path somewhere and have now found themselves in a uncharted part of the forest they have never seen before.

Picking up right where I left off from last week’s snippet.

(Some sentences may have been creatively edited and punctuated to try to fit the ten sentence limit. I’m over, again. Can we just agree that my snippets will always be a little longer but not too long?)

~*~*~*~

Somewhere along the way we had taken a new path, and I wasn’t quite sure where we had veered off from. I wasn’t at all familiar with where we were, and I wasn’t at all sure I knew how to make it back to the small trail that lead home. The forest around us had taken on an eerie setting, putting both me and my horse on edge.

Midnight slowed down to a nervous walk. Every so often he would prance and bob his head up and down, a sure sign that he knew something was amiss around us. I did the best I could with soothing gestures to try to calm him, while my own mind wandered down the path of all possible bad outcomes. My imagination was running wild, causing me to panic. Midnight could feel that through our bond and it wasn’t helping matters. I could try to calm my horse down as much as I wished, but it wouldn’t do a smidge of good unless I was calm myself.

And that wasn’t going to happen until we were somewhere familiar again.

For more than ten minutes we walked on cautiously. My eyes darted to every little sound, afraid that something was going to pop out. Midnight’s ears flickered back and forth as he caught the noises too, his tail swishing from side to side. My heart was beating in my chest like a racehorse, fear making my hands sweat causing me to lose my grip on the reins.

A lone owl hooting overhead made me jump and gasp. Midnight stopped in his tracks, throwing his head up and chewing his bit. I nearly fell out of the saddle at the sudden noise. The eeriness of the woods seemed to close in on us. There was no other sounds in the forest but that of the hooting owl.

 Suddenly we seemed all too exposed and unaware. I wanted to get the hell out of there. Fast.

~*~*~*~

Spooky, spooky.

Breaking Point 3

Cover made by @writethelove on Wattpad

 

This story is not yet on Wattpad either as it is another unfinished work and unedited as well. I refuse to put up anything that is unedited. One day I hope to finish this book, but my focus this year is Fated to Darkness.

However! If you wish to read anything else that I do have finished, you can hop on over to  my profile on Wattpad and check out what I have to offer. I love to hear any and all feedback on my work as well. Comments are greatly appreciated, as are the reads.

And if you’re looking for some other great snippets of fellow authors,
hop on over to Facebook and check out Snippet Sunday!

21 thoughts on “Something Eerie (Snippet Sunday 5.22.16)

  1. Pingback: Clip-Clop, Clip-Clop (Snippet Sunday 5.29.16) | Darkling Dreams

Leave a Reply

