Serpent’s Kiss (Wednesday Words 4.27.16)

Welcome to a piece of Wednesday Word’s flash fiction on Darkling Dreams!

A good friend of mine, P.T. Wyant, is doing a blog post every Wednesday called Wednesday Words with a new prompt for a bit of flash fiction writing, just to get in the habit of writing something, anything. (Even if said flash fiction is complete garbage at the time. Garbage is better than nothing though, right?) If you’re looking for some inspiration yourself or just something to aimlessly write, then go check out her blog for this week’s prompt!

With that being said, I am going to share what I came up with for this week’s flash fiction prompt based off a photo. So here is my very rough around the edges minute of inspiration based off her prompt. I’d love to hear what you guys think of it!

(Please excuse any errors you may see, I said it was rough around the edges.)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Serpent’s Kiss

I tilted my head back at the golden serpent’s touch, letting out a trail of bubbles up towards the surface of the lake. My fiery red hair floated around me, matching the red fluttering fins of the serpent. I could feel the end of its tail trailing across my bare back, its body coiled around my legs and under me to keep me at the bottom of the lake with it.

The water moved around my body in a caress as it slithered closer to my face. In turn, I arched up and backwards, my hands braced on its slippery scales where I sat upon it. Even though my eyes were closed I could picture it clearly in my mind as it moved gracefully through the water around me, inspecting me.

I wore nothing by a skimpy scaled and jeweled bikini, like that of a mermaid. Each time it got closer to me a shiver of lure and excitement wound through my flesh and bones. Another breathy trail of bubbles escaped my lips as I arched further to the serpent’s presence.

My lungs were beginning to burn, screaming for air, to go to the surface of the lake; but I was trapped in the creature’s lure, and I was going nowhere even if I actually wanted to.

If I had thought it was all legend and myth before when I came wadding into the lake, I was quickly proven wrong when I began to sing within the waters. It had been nothing more than a dare when I told my friends I didn’t believe in the myth and legend. Sure, there were many strange occurrences and disappearances surrounding Lake Sirentis. However, I chalked them all up to overactive minds and imaginations of those too engrossed in the myths.

I couldn’t have been more wrong.

The serpent wrapped his body around me more, entrapping me like boa constrictor, though not fully touching me. His scales were smooth as they brushed against my skin, sending another thrill through me and striking all the way down to my core. I arched back further from the zap of electricity through me, the pure lust and desire.

I was quite sure I elicited a moan but it was lost in a sea of bubbles as I lost the last of the precious air in my lungs, threatening to drown.

Just as panic gripped through the heated lure, I felt the serpent’s snout touch upon my neck. An intense burning that wasn’t at all painful started to spread across my throat. It was numbing at first, but as my need for air grew, the numb burn turned into a spreading fire across my skin.

My eyes flew open in the dark crystal waters and I reached my free hand to my throat, gagging and gasping. I was taking in water now, but I didn’t feel like I was drowning.

Something was wrong, something felt strange.

The burning centralized on the sides of my throat, like claws raking through my skin slowly. The serpent curled his neck around to look me straight in the eyes with that burning amber color so intense.

“Ssssing,” it hissed almost seductively.

I wasn’t quite sure I could, confused by the request of the serpent. Lost in the amber eyes, lured by the charms and myth around the creature, I opened my mouth again and began to sing just a series of ‘ahs’ like Aerial when the Sea Witch stole her voice in The Little Mermaid. My voice was strained at first, but soon it started to flow beautifully, growing stronger and more alluring.

The burning along the sides of my neck intensified and patches along my body started to tingle. My hand trailed along the side of my neck as my voice grew stronger and my need for air was pacified. To my numbed surprise, I felt my skin pulling apart along my neck and forming a set of gills on either side. They opened and closed as they pulled the oxygen from the water and as I sang.

The serpent began to unwind from around me, and I was about to stop singing as I looked to it.

“Ssssing,” it hissed again, swimming around me like an eel moving through the water.

I continued to sing as the tingling along my body grew more prominent. Looking down to myself, I saw my skin flaking off in certain sporadic patches and being replaced with fiery red patches of scales to match my hair color. My eyes widened in amazement, the fear and panic at what was happening to me numbed by a strange energy and lure starting to thrum through my heated body.

Soon a golden energy began to swirl up from the lake’s floor and it surrounded my feet, then my ankles, thighs, calves, all the way up to my waist. I could feel it practically lifting me to stand on the sandy floor, but still I didn’t stop singing.

I began to float upwards, the adrenaline rush coursing through me and making my voice grow in intensity. The more power I placed behind my voice, the higher I rose in the waters, and the more I felt the waves of the golden energy swirling around from my waist down. A new tingle started to spread over my legs and I stopped lightly kicking my feet, feeling tempted to pull them together.

Tilting my head back again, my arms floated out beside me like a majestic angel bathing in the glorious light of Heaven, my hair floating around me. The patches of scales now littering my body shone brightly. I lost myself in the feeling of elation and the seductive power of my voice, losing all thought, all will. I was giving into my body’s primal desires and I was enjoying it.

The tingling feeling finally stopped spreading through my legs, the golden energy faded away as I finished on a high note.

Slowly, I came back to myself and tilted my head forward again, coming face to face with the serpent. Something felt immensely different, and I wasn’t kicking my feet anymore. Instead I could feel one large appendage flicking back and forth in the water. My gaze traveled down my body, taking in the patches of scales and then the large mermaid-like tail I now possessed in replacement of my legs. The end of my tail was jagged and curved long, splitting two ways but having the appearance of a bat’s wing on both ends, only more sinister and sharp. The scales were the same color as the ones littering my skin now.

I flicked my tail a little, diving backwards and swimming a couple feet away as I got used to it, twirling in the water. My hair fanned in front of my face then floated out of the way. I smiled to myself, no longer noting the fear or uncertainty. All I felt now was lust and manipulative desire. Eyes that were once almost golden themselves were now the same amber color as the serpent’s and they were slit like a snake’s as I looked to the mythical creature in front of me.

In that moment I knew the legends and myths were entirely true. The superstitions and strange occurrences held complete stock in the realm of reality. I was living proof of it now.

I was a siren.


Now you can find this flash fiction work and others on my profile on Wattpad! Click here for my profile and go dive into a sea of Shards of Imagination!

Shards of Imagination Cover Final

Cover made by @_teenagers on Wattpad

Leave a Reply

