Back on Track Just in Time

Eight days left…

It’s getting closer and closer to the end of NaNo and that countdown has begun.

I’m not panicking. Yet. I don’t think I’m going to panic,actually. Okay, maybe I’m a bit worried and internally freaking a little, but I think I’m going to be okay.

Remember me saying I had seemed to hit a lull period and I wasn’t sure where I was going in the story next because I ran out of unplanned chapters? Yeah, I didn’t think I was going to get past that.

I tried for a good five days to try and plan where I was supposed to be headed next, and I was just coming up empty. I couldn’t figure it out no matter how many times I tossed around ideas in my head. I’d start writing out the ideas, stop, and sneer at them because it wasn’t working.

Then I was told to stop worrying and just write.

Out of frustration — and the fact I knew I needed to get writing again if I was going to make goal for the month — I finally listened, threw my hands up, stepped out of my characters’ way, and handed them the reins.

And boy did they run with it!

If I had been stuck on that chapter ending before, I wasn’t after I got out of the way. I guess that was what I really needed to do: just write. I don’t have any new chapters planned, I only have general ideas and I know where I need to be going. The details though are just coming as I write, I’m not worrying about them right now. It seems it’s the only way this is working at the moment, but I’ll take it in order to finish out the month.

I now only need 13,773 words to make goal now that I managed to find my groove again. I barely got in 5k yesterday, and I say barely as in three minutes to midnight to spare. Now that I’m back on track, I think I’ll be okay the rest of the month. I haven’t even fallen below par at all.

One thought on “Back on Track Just in Time

Leave a Reply

