Dancer Dreams (Wednesday Words 4.13.16)

Welcome to a piece of Wednesday Word’s flash fiction on Darkling Dreams!

A good friend of mine, P.T. Wyant, is doing a blog post every Wednesday called Wednesday Words with a new prompt for a bit of flash fiction writing, just to get in the habit of writing something, anything. (Even if said flash fiction is complete garbage at the time. Garbage is better than nothing though, right?) If you’re looking for some inspiration yourself or just something to aimlessly write, then go check out her blog for this week’s prompt!

With that being said, I am going to share what I came up with for this week’s flash fiction prompt based off a three word combination. So here is my very rough around the edges minute of inspiration based off her prompt. I’d love to hear what you guys think of it!

(Please excuse any errors you may see, I said it was rough around the edges.)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Dancer Dreams

The music played a soft melody through the open room, wafting on gentle tunes. She moved fluidly and graceful with the sound like some regal horse. Head held high, arms out, feet pointed. Back and forth, smooth and flowing. Twirl and stretch, fast to slow, never missing a beat.

A soft, slow clap filled the space as she finished her piece with a low bow like a courting bird. The music stopped, turning to static upon the record player sitting upon the old mahogany desk in the corner.

“Very well done. You are becoming such a fine dancer, Britney.”

She turned back towards him and curtseyed. “Thank you. I owe it all to such a fine teacher.”

He chuckled, flicking his hand in a dismissive manner. “Oh. You are too kind.”

She wandered off to the stool to sit and take her ballerina flats off, tucking the loose strand of ebony hair that was her signature style back behind her ear. “So you believe I will be ready for the competition in a month?”

“You know I have quite a lot of faith in you.” He turned to take the needle off the record and turn it off, being as gentle with the instrument as one would a new born babe. He then leaned back against the desk and picked up the old maritime art. The delicate ship in a bottle, crafted expertly with hours of steady hands and precise detail.

“I know,” Britney sighed, pausing a moment as she leaned over on her knees. Her teacher raised his eyebrows at her and she immediately sat up straight and proper once more. “I only fear I am not as…privileged as they will be.”

“Just because you come from a household that does not spoil their brats into oblivion, does not mean you are any less worth than they are, my dear. Never forget that.”

“It is hard to remember that at times, Jeremy.”

He frowned a little. “Oh, my dear, do not let such thoughts get you so down. They will not do you any good. Chin up. Just remember: you are fabulous.”

Britney chuckled at the grin he flashed her, and the overzealous way he said those last words. He was always so cheery and open, always so optimistic and fun to be around. He could brighten a whole room with a just a simple joke or joy. She supposed it was part of his flamboyant nature, but it made her feel welcomed here. More so than she felt even at home.

“Do you think my parents will really show to the competition?”

“I sure hope they do or I will be knocking on their door to drag them hand in hand down to the auditorium.”

“You…will be there?” Her voice was hopeful, but also cautious.

He looked at her softly, almost a fatherly attitude to him. “Of course I shall be there. I wouldn’t miss it for the world when my shining star blows away every rich spoiled know-it-all there.”

“Thank you,” she replied softly, managing a small smile.

“Always, my dear. Now, how about that donut treat from the break room? I hear they had coconut sprinkled ones today.”

She chuckled at the simple joy in him again and packed up her bag, standing back up with a little hop. “Sounds delightful.”

“Perfect.” He set the little model ship back down on the desk and clapped again, beginning to lead her out to of the dance room. His eyes twinkled mischievously. “Now I believe you owe me a good juicy story about that boy crush of yours as well.”

“Jeremy!” she laughed.


Now you can find this flash fiction work and others on my profile on Wattpad! Click here for my profile and go dive into a sea of Shards of Imagination!

Shards of Imagination Cover Final

Leave a Reply

