New Month, New Start

Yeah, I know, it sounds so cliché, but that’s essentially what it boils down to anymore.

January actually went pretty decent for me, for once. I got through some journaling, got all my goals and such set up, made a tentative time frame that I believe I can work with for the rest of the year, got myself caught up and crossed off some never-ending to do things that have been sitting on my list for ages, etc. etc.

So yeah, I’d say January went fairly well. Though there are a few things I need to work on yet. Like writing more consistently.

I have kept myself to writing a short flash fiction piece every week on Wednesday. (Granted it’s only been three weeks so far… But hey, that’s three weeks I haven’t slacked off, I will pat myself on the back for that considering my reputation with follow through.) The fact that I have begun to post them to Wattpad along with here is helping me to stick to that goal. Now I just need to keep myself going on working on Fated to Darkness. I don’t care if it’s a hundred words a day, I just need to plop myself down in the morning before friends trickle on to talk to me and I get sidetracked, or late at night when friends finally fall off to bed but my night owl ass is still awake…

You get the picture.

Depending on the day of the week and other things I do at times manage to get some stuff accomplished in between chatting and other distractions, but I get more done without those “oh! shiny object!” moments popping up as notifications. Not that I really mind. In fact, I don’t mind at all the notifications, as they normally always pertain to good friends to talk to.

Anywho!

So how is February going to go for me then?

Well, there are a few things I have on the monthly to do list. (I have really started making lists and tentative plans for everything this year. So far, it seems to be helping.)

This month’s focus is finishing the long overdo camping entries in my journal so that I can be ready for the new season come May. I got the first of five entries done yesterday — a day late on my schedule, but it’s done — and now I have four left. My plan was one a week.

Manageable, right? It’s not that hard. One entry every week that ranges anywhere from five to seven-eight pages handwritten. Not hard.

Since I have today off yet, I plan to get the second entry knocked out today so I have the rest of the week to focus on writing, reading for a friend, and blog hopping. Oh, and did I mention I got all Sunday Snippet posts set up and scheduled for this month? That takes one more thing off my list to do for each week. All I have to remember to do now is edit to put the link in for last week’s snippet — because I can’t figure out how to get the link for something scheduled but not actually posted yet — and then remember to share it to the Facebook group.

The other major thing I have noted as a goal for this month is to go for a yearly physical again so that I can go take that blasted permit test next month sometime and be on my way to completing one of my yearly goals. I kind of have to call the doctor’s office to make an appointment though… Might be helpful to do that first.

Those two things are the goals of February though: Finish the camping journal entries and go for that stupid physical where I’ll listen to the doctor nag once more at me just for a signed piece of paper. (Can you tell I hate any kind of appointment?) Oh, and of course there’s keep writing. Keep writing consistently. Always keep writing.

(Well, the major goals that go towards my yearly goals at least. Of course there’s other menial things, like cleaning my room…)

But there it is, laid out on the table once more for all to see and hold me accountable to. It’s a new month, time to hit the ground running again.


 

(Oh, and just one last thing… a Blessed Imbolc to all who celebrate! Winter has finally reached its midpoint! Let Mother Earth begin to reawaken! I cannot wait for Springtime.)

blessed imbolc

Leave a Reply

