‘Tis the Season

Happy Freaking New Year.

And you know what that means?

Resolutions and goals that you hope you actually stick to and accomplish throughout the new coming year.

But do you ever actually follow all the way through with them?

In my experience, no.

Then again I’ve said countless times I’m a total flop when it comes down to follow through, so maybe it’s just me. Or maybe it’s not. Who knows.

Yet every year (just about) I find myself sitting there in the days between Christmas and New Year’s thinking to myself of goals and resolutions. Last year I didn’t make any resolutions, what’s the point when I never manage them anyways, right? Just another hopeless let down.

But this year…

It seems I’ve caught myself in the trap of hope and have decided to brew up a few goals. Not resolutions. Just goals.

Some of them are turning out to be just odds and ends things, and others are all geared towards writing.

Going in the direction of non-related writing goals first, there are a couple on my list. One of which, and probably the biggest, is to finally get my driver’s license. I keep putting it off and putting it off for year after year now and I’ve about realized I have to stop. Of course, this means I have to go schedule for a physical again because my last one ran out, but…

I know I need to get that damned little plastic card finally. And I might now have a small incentive to do so, more than just freedom. The slight prospect of obtaining a sort of second job in exercising a couple horses. I would be in dream heaven if this actually fell into place, but it’s all very up in the air yet. Nevertheless though, if it can be possible, that’ll light a fire under my ass real quick.

Which that leads me to wanting to go back to taking show jumping lessons this year again. I need to get back in the saddle after my two year lapse because of a fall and a loss of confidence. I miss it dearly and as the months rolled by without riding, I realized I was at least five times happier then even though I was only riding one day a week.

The last upon the list of non-related writing goals is to get my room organized. I have closet full of crap — mainly childhood toys like Barbie dolls — that can be disposed of. But being the rather neat child that I was then (yes, I know, it’s so unheard of, but I was a neat child, deal with it) all of those toys are still in really good condition. I’ve been planning for a long time to go through everything and sell it, and I think it’s about time I do just that. It’ll clear up some other organization if I do.

Now moving onto the good stuff, all the writing related goodie goals.

I’m not trying for the 1k-A-Day Challenge my friend presented me with in 2015. I absolutely failed at it last year and only made that goal one month out of the twelve, and that was during July’s Camp NaNo session. Might have made it in November with NaNo, but…computer problems.

So, simply this year, my goal is finish the first book in the Dark Heir Chronicles. I think I’m about half way through writing the first draft where I am now, so I still have a ways to go. But when I also say finish the book, that is including all my notes and odds and ends I want to have completed with it. So there’s a bit of work going into this goal.

I want to keep myself writing consistently as well, not this jumping on and off the adrenaline excited train of bursts of inspiration. If I can do that, I’m rather sure I can finish the first book this year. Probably not edit it, but at least finish it.

Last of all, I want to complete my new run through edit of Rivers of Black. I had wanted to start and finish it last year — it’s only a short story — but things kept popping up. So I want to accomplish that.

And that’s about it, minus the mile long list of to do’s that I’ll always have. So there it is, all in black and white: my goals for the coming year.

Dare I say here goes nothing?

2 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season

  1. Pingback: One Thing at a Time, One Step at a Time | Darkling Dreams

  2. Pingback: Reflecting On 2016 | Darkling Dreams

Leave a Reply

