Snippet Sunday: October 11, 2015

Welcome to Snippet Sunday on Darkling Dreams!

Where writers come together to share a few sentences (8-10) of their current project — whether it’s a recently released novel, a WIP (work in progress), or an older manuscript that’s being revived. Intended to hook readers, gather feedback and build an author’s fan base, Snippet Sunday is the FB group that does all three.

Snippet Sunday

In honor of it being Halloween month, the best month of the year, I am going to switch up my Sunday Snippets and share from a different story of mine that I also have on Wattpad. A short horror story titled, The Beast.

Picking up right where I left off from last week’s snippet. The main character — you will learn her name later, I think — was describing the creature that follows her home through the dark streets at night.

(Some sentences may have been creatively punctuated to try fit the ten sentence limit. I’m over this week.)

Every night I walked home from working at the bar around midnight, and every time I got close to that alleyway, the heavy breathing and click-click of sharp nails on pavement would follow me from behind.

At first my rational mind told me to just ignore it and keep walking, that it was just some stray dog trotting along to its home for the night; but I would round corner after corner and still the sounds would follow me, growing closer and louder by the minute. Eventually, my panic set in and I would start to pick up my pace, but so would the creature behind me — until finally, when I’d break into a flat out run for my apartment building would it stop me.

I’d get no more than a few feet when the beast would appear out of the darkness in front of me and howl. I never failed to scream and fall onto my rear as I hastily tried to stop myself from colliding with it and back away, adrenaline would have me shaking, coupled with the paralyzing sense of terror. As soon as it would appear though, it would dissolve back into the night in a cloud of darkness.

But it never left for long.

No, not once did it leave me alone after the initial scare: its low growl would emanate from everywhere around me, coming from all directions and building in volume as time passed. I would try to get up and run again, try desperately to make it to my front door that was no more than thirty feet away from me.

But I never made it.

I would take one hesitant step forward and the growl would grow to a roar; cold gusts of wind would buffet me from the street side, urging me towards the dark alley that housed only stray cats and garbage cans. I’d scream again and again, in fear and desperation; but not a soul would hear me, not one light would flick on in the surrounding buildings. I was on my own to fend for my life; and I was almost positive I was about to be ripped to pieces and eaten.

The Beast Cover Final

If you wish to read more, it is available to read on Wattpad! (If you do, it is under the book titled Wild Fantasies. This was part of a contest I entered.) I love to hear any and all feedback on my work as well. Comments are greatly appreciated, as are the reads.

And if you’re looking for some other great snippets of fellow authors,

hop on over to Facebook and check out Sunday Snippets!

13 thoughts on “Snippet Sunday: October 11, 2015

  1. Scary! I love the description that centers mostly on what the beast does, and her reaction to it–but never really describes the beast itself. It’s an opportunity for readers to invent the image of the beast in their own minds–to draw upon their own fears and experiences. Good job!

    One thing jumped out at me: “…on my own to fed for my life;” Did you mean “fend for my life”? :-)

    Like

    • Whoops! Must have missed that little error in editing. Thanks for pointing it out, I’ll fix it.
      There was a small description of the beast in last week’s snippet, but even that was a little vague for the imagination. It’s all about the fear and mystery. Glad you’re liking it!
      Thanks for reading, Teresa! :)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Snippet Sunday: October 18, 2015 | Darkling Dreams

Leave a Reply

