Water Fairy (Wednesday Words 9.16.15)

A good friend of mine, P.T. Wyant, is doing a blog post every Wednesday called Wednesday Words with a new prompt for a bit of flash fiction writing, just to get in the habit of writing something, anything. (Even if said flash fiction is complete garbage at the time. Garbage is better than nothing though, right?) If you’re looking for some inspiration yourself or just something to aimlessly write, then go check out her blog for this week’s prompt!

With that being said, I am going to share what I came up with for this week’s flash fiction prompt based off a photo. (I haven’t done one of these in ages.) So here is my very rough around the edges minute of inspiration based off her prompt. I’d love to hear what you guys think of it!

(Please excuse any errors you may see, I said it was rough around the edges.)

—-

Water Fairy

The rocks were slippery under the soles of my sandals as I hopped and fluttered from rock to rock. My butterfly shaped wings fluttered behind me to keep myself balanced, arms out to my sides.

I skipped from one stepping stone to the next across the green covered pond, bouncing upon each stone as I hummed a cheery melody to myself. I felt as if I was playing hop scotch with the stones, listening to the water birds chirping their tune along with me from their perches upon the rock structures around me.

Through the archway, I could see my little moss covered cottage. It looked rather bare yet on the outside, no water lilies or plants to adorn it just yet. I had only just received my wings, and my own cottage. Making it my own didn’t spring up overnight, unfortunately.

I smiled to myself.

Yes, my wings. The glittering pair of butterfly like wings that adorned my back now. A mixture of a green apple and baby blue color, creating swirling patters that shined and shimmered in the sunlight like glitter.

Of course, they weren’t shimmering now, however.

The day was overcast and the dense clouds obscured the bright sunshine, though once in a blue moon the rays of light would break through the clouds and beat off the pond, glistening with dew against the moss covered rocks.

This was home to me now.

Set in the middle of the greenery pond; moss covered everything and rock structures like caves and cliffs, carved into patterns of archways and peep holes. I was, after all, a water fairy. It was rather fitting to me.

What better place to have my cottage than upon a lake that spoke to my nature?

Then again, that was how it always was.

Upon acquiring one’s wings, they would find their cottage home, and begin their long awaited work of playing a guardian angel role to those in desperate need of a miracle. That was how it had been for hundreds of years, and how it would be for hundreds more I was sure.

Yet, I still did not have my role or purpose. I had graduated the academy and received my wings, but I was still without my purpose.

I was told I wasn’t likely to get one right away, not many fairies did. Still though, I had hoped I would be one of the few special ones that found their purpose right out of the academy. Wishful thinking of course, but a line of thought I couldn’t yet help.

A light breeze rippled the duckweed over the pond, billowing the straying strands of my reddish-brown hair. I sighed along with the breeze, feeling a bit disappointed. It had only been two weeks so far after graduating, but my anticipation was getting the best of me and spurring the want to have a purpose that much sooner.

“If only,” I sighed to the wind, pausing upon a stepping stone before the rock bed that kept my little cottage dry. I looked out over the pond, wondering yet what kind of fairy guardian I would make, and if I would be good at all.

Leave a Reply

