Baby Steps

I think I’m trying to bite off more than I can chew lately and that’s one of my major hitches with the whole no follow through problem of mine.

I always try to make plans to get things done. Like I’ll say today I’m doing this, this, this, this and this. Only, this, this, and this doesn’t end up happening. But the other this and this does get done. (That sounded better in my head.) And because I didn’t accomplish more than what I did accomplish, I get discouraged.

I’m beginning to see that as one of my major flaws. Because I have so much to do, I try to do too much at once or I set too high a goal maybe. Still not fully sure but that’s the conclusion I’m coming to lately.

So!

Here’s my new plan:

(I’m not letting myself refer to it as a plan that way I can’t screw it up this time.)

This time around, I’m taking baby steps. Little bitty baby steps.

Instead of giving myself a deadline, I’m just going to try to go with the flow. All those notes I wanted to get done, I’m doing a different way now. (Thank you to my friend Paula for the idea!) I’m not going to finish them all at once now and then jump back into writing. Now I’m going to go back and re-read all 30k words — roughly 5 chapters — I have written for Breaking Point and as I’m reading through it, I’m going to make my notecards of characters, horses, settings, important information, etc. etc.

(Who knows, while I’m doing that I may even end up making notes for editing. But let’s not get ahead of myself here. That’d be pushing it for me. And be distracting.)

Once I have read back through it all and I have those notes, I’m plunging right back in and writing. I’m not going to make all the notes and characters at once. As I go along, I will make the notes and figure my characters out. I write better by just running with it anyways. Outlines are not my friend. And really, why bother with one when my characters have a nasty habit of taking things they way they want to and not the way I want to?

Go figure, right?

That is my hope now. To re-read my story (which will also re-familiarize myself with it) and make the notes as I read through it. While (hopefully) not getting sidetracked by editing errors.

Of course, I still have that mile long to do list as well. And work lately is starting to kick my ass. But hey, I have time. Right?

(Ha, not always. Time likes to sneak up on me and yell “BOO!” in my ear just to make me panic and stress out.)

So those are kind of my new goals. To take things one step at a time, start small with baby steps. You have to learn to walk before you can learn to run. (Or as I like to say, before you can ride a horse.) Now I’m not going to discourage myself right off the bat by saying “let’s see how long I actually stick to this”.

(See, I didn’t say it. I crossed it out.)

This time, I’m going to say I can do this. And I’m going to cross my fingers that the weather starts to cooperate with me so I can get a few other things done as well and get the ball rolling for myself again. (Seriously, my driveway is over an inch thick of ice in some places. And it’s alllllll downhill. I’m literally iced in.) I’ve started too get the ball rolling down the hill, I’m organized again. Now I just got to keep it up. Especially since Camp NaNo is next month.

Like Thomas the Train says: I think I can, I think I can.

2 thoughts on “Baby Steps

  1. “And because I didn’t accomplish more than what I did accomplish, I get discouraged.”

    Another hint/piece of advice: “Look at what you did, not at what you didn’t do.” There will always be more stuff to do, so focus on what you did. I’ve been known to keep a notebook called “Today I…” to hold a list of things that I did toward a goal each day. That way, when it seems like you’re not making much progress, you can look at the list and say, “Yeah! Go me!”

    Like

    • Thanks.
      I’m known to look at the negative more than the positive a lot of the time. (Though I’m trying to break that habit.) I’ve never thought of doing a notebook like that. I’m sure I have something small laying around that I can use for it. (Number of notebooks I have not yet used, partially started, and half full is not an option to ask.) I probably should start keeping little journals and such. But I get worried I’ll stop doing that too and see it later as yet another thing I didn’t do. (And there I go again… *Smacks self in head* Bad mind. Bad mind.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

